viva la vida video from cold play


Today we’ve done an interesting listening exercise with a video clip from a British pop band, Coldplay. It’s a song from their new album. We were given an incomplete script with the song’s lyrics where we had to fill the gaps after hearing the song twice. Then we tried to give the song some meaning because our teacher told us that she couldn’t understand what was the song about.

I’ve got the youtube link from the song: Viva La Vida from Coldplay.

This is the complete song script lyrics with the gaps filled:

I …used to… rule the world
Seas …would… rise when I gave the word
Now in the morning I sweep alone
Sweep the streets …I used to… own

I …used to… roll the dice
Feel the fear in my enemy’s eyes
Listen as the crowd …would… sing:
“Now the old king is dead! Long live the king!”

One minute I held the key
Next the walls were closed on me
And I discovered that my castles stand
Upon pillars of salt, pillars of sand

I hear Jerusalem bells are …ringing
Roman Cavalry choirs are …singing
Be my mirror my sword and shield
My missionaries in a foreign field

For some reason I can’t explain
Once you know there was never, never an honest word
That was when I ruled the world
(Ohhh)

It was the wicked and wild wind
Blew down the doors to let me in.
Shattered windows and the sound of drums
People couldn’t believe what I’d become

Revolutionaries wait
For my head on a silver plate
Just a puppet on a lonely string
Oh who …would… ever want to be king?

I hear Jerusalem bells are …ringing
Roman Cavalry choirs are …singing
Be my mirror my sword and shield
My missionaries in a foreign field

For some reason I can not explain
I know Saint Peter will call my name
Never an honest word
But that was when I ruled the world
(Ohhhhh Ohhh Ohhh)

Hear Jerusalem bells are …ringing
Roman Cavalry choirs are …singing
Be my mirror my sword and shield
My missionaries in a foreign field

For some reason I can not explain
I know Saint Peter will call my name
Never an honest word
But that was when I ruled the world
(Oooooh Oooooh Oooooh)

As we can see the filling words are within the GRAMMAR we’ve studied in lesson 2! (used to/would and be/get used to in 2C/2D)

After checking out the gap filling words we discussed the song’s meaning. It was clear that it was about the rise and fall of a very powerful man. There were parts that seem to be out of place like the paragraphs about religious themes like Jerusalem bells and Roman cavalry choirs.

After the discussion period the teacher give us a page text with an explanation that she’s found out searching in the Internet. In the text the author speculates that the song is a very literal interpretational ballad of Napoleon in the moments before his death in exile. The reason the author gives to sustain his/her interpretation is the heavy French classical influence coursing through the song as well as the Album cover which features a French Revolutionary painting.

Responder

