vocabulary card’s game for unit 9 about jobs


Last Wednesday we played a game in class based on phrase-and-word cards about Jobs vocabulary to help us remembering the basic words about that subject. A deck of cards was given to each one of us. We played in pairs. One partner had to choose randomly a card and read aloud the phrase with a missing gap where the word-to-guess should go and thenthe other partner had to try to guess the word. If he/she did, then he/she kept the card. If he/she didn’t then the partner to read the phrase kept the card.

Here are the phrases and the words used in the game (one line per card):

  • I only work mornings. I work …….. (part-time)
  • I work nine to five. I Work …….. (full-time)
  • I work only on holidays. I have a ……… job. (temporary)
  • My boss and I signed a written legal document. It’s called a ………. (contract)
  • My brother lost his job and is now ……….. (unemployed)
  • I think I’ll stay in this job until I retire. I have a ………. job. (permanent)
  • I was unskilled so I had to do a six-month …….. (training course)
  • I went to Technical college to get the ………. I needed for this job. (qualifications)
  • I had never worked before so I had no ………. (experience)
  • I heard there were some ……… in the factory so I sent my CV. (job vacancies)
  • I work for peanuts! I have a very low ……… (salary)
  • I wasn’t happy in my previous job so I ………. and looked for a new job. (resigned)
  • I work for myself, I am ……… (self-employed)
  • I plan to travel around the world with my husband when I …… at 65. (retire)
  • I organise my own working schedule. I work ……… (flexitime)
  • My boss was nor happy with my work so he ………. me. (fired/sacked/dismissed)
  • The company asked for ……….. They wanted to know if my previous employers thought I worked well. (references)
  • Now I have the qualifications, I feel I’m ready to …… that new job. I’ll tlak to the manager tomorrow. (apply for)
  • My boss wants me to ……….. today, so I won’t be home until late. (work overtime)
  • He has to work long hours and is always tired. He is ……… (overworked)
  • I start work at 7 am and finish at 8 pm, so I work ………. (long hours)
  • I’m getting a …….. soon so I’ll be able to buy a car then. (pay rise)
  • Working with little children is fantastic. It is such …….. work! (rewarding)
  • I’m still a Junior Partner Manager, but I hope to ……… to Senior soon. (get promoted)
  • H ehets a meagre salary working lots. He is ……. (unserpaid)

Responder

