The book or the film?


Today in class we’ve continued with Unit 5. This time we did exercises of lesson 2 and some extra activities about questioning and getting answers from classmates (find somebody like you) On Wednesday 27th I couldn’t attend class. I guess they finished and checked the homework exercises 9-11, p. 64, and started with lesson 2, exercises 1-3.

The teacher gave us papers with extra exercises about verbs with -ing or infinitive to complete in a week.

Lesson 2 Unit 5, has verb patterns with -ing or infinitive as Grammar subject. It also has Vocabulary for describing books and films and describe a film/book as Can Do. The latter is a useful tool for me to comment on books written in English that I’ve read recently in my YearThinks Blog. I regret I’ve failed to attend last class last week.

To practice and learn about the Grammar issue we’ve listened to an audio clip about a young film maker called Hannah. She said some phrases using verbs patterns that we had to complete in:

8 a Listen again and complete the notes.

Hannah says:

I didn’t expect to see these results …

I can’t stand (1) __ shopping__

I don’t mind (2) __doing__ the housework but it is not very interesting …

I‘d prefer (3) __to do__ less of that kind of thing.

I enjoy reading …

I always look forward to (4) __starting__ a new book.

I love cooking …

I try (5) __to cook__ a proper meal at least for noghts a week.

I often invite (6) __friends__ over __to have__ dinner …

I never manage (7) __to do__ much exercise.

I never seem to find the time.

That’s one thing I‘d like (8) __to change__.

NOTE: The typescript is on page 171 to check.

In the above exercise we can see some verbs like expect that always has a + infinitive pattern and verbs like can’t stand which always has an -ing pattern (sometimes also: can’t stand s.o) The verbs in conditional form (could/would + verb = ‘d + verb) have always a + infinitive pattern. There is a third type of verbs which have a verb + object + infinitive pattern: to ask s.o to do sth, for example.

There are also verbs which can have both patterns. Sometimes meaning changes with such verbs. For example:

(a) It started raining at four.

(b) It started to rain at four.

They have no change in meaning. But:

(c) I stop drinking yesterday.

(b) I stop to drink yesterday.

In (c) you imply that you were an alcoholic and yesterday you gave it up. In (d) you were doing something and then you stopped to have a drink.

We keep on practicing with exercises 10 y 11.

10 Choose yhe correct alternative

1 What hobbies would you love to do/do in the future?

2 Are there any activities you’d advise your classmates to do/doing?

3 What hobbies do you enjoy doing/to do in a big group? Alone?

4 Is there anything you sometimes forget to do/doing?

5 What do you expect to do/doing in yor free time when you are old?

6 Is there any housework that you can’t stand doing/to do?

NOTE: We had to ask these questions to our classmate sitting opposite to us …

11 Rewrite the advertisement using the correct form of the words in brackets. Use the Present Simple.

BOOKWORLD

Would __like to be__ (like/be) a member of a book club?

We (1) __invite you to join__ (invite/join) BookWorld. If (2) __you enjoy reading__ (enjoy/read), BookWorld is for you. You can (3) __expect to receive__ (expect/receive) six free books when you join.

If (4) __want to choose__ (want/choose) your own books, we an offer great discounts, but web (5) __advise you to join__ (advise/join) immediately for our special discount membership.

When you (6) __finish reading__ (finish/read) the books, you can return them!

Don’t (7) __forget to include__ (forget/include) your email address. Please write in BLOCK CAPITALS.

2 comentarios en “The book or the film?

  1. The extra exercise we did yesterday, Find somebody like you, consisted of first completing the following sentences with the verb in correct form (gerund or infinitive) so that they were true for me:

    When I was a child I couldn’t stand __being alone in the dark__.

    I love __going outdoors__ at the weekends.

    My friends usually help me __to find something funny to do when I’m down__

    Recently, I have stopped __watching TV__

    Next year I want __to get a new brand new car__.

    I enjoy __travelling to foreign countries__ during the holidays.

    My parents didn’t allow me __to hang out with friends late__ when I was a teenager.

    I would like to continue __being healthy__ next year.

    I expect __to get married__ in the near future.

    My teachers at school advised me __to study further at University__.

    I’m always forgetting __to take my home keys with me.

    I hate __ironing__ at home.

    I remember __being very quiet__ when I was very little.

    At the moment I’m looking forward to __going home, having dinner and going bed__ because I feel very very tired.

    I started _______________ a few years ago.

    Then we had to stand up and take a tour asking questions to one another in order to find a person who is like oneself (by matching one sentence of ours and writing their name next to the sentence)

    Example of questions to ask:

    – Could you stand eating lentils when you were a child?
    X Yes, I could. I loved eating lentils.

    I found out three classmates that were like me in three sentences. :)

    We had to report to the class (and the teacher) one of the matches. To do that we had to use a very useful idiom. For example:

    – I hate __ironing__ at home. So does Maria.

    – My parents didn’t allow me __to hang out with friends late__ when I was a teenager. Neither did David’s parents!

    – Next year I want __to get a new brand new car__. So does Elena.

    and so on.

  2. We did also the Grammar exercise 9:

    9 Read rhe Active grammar box ans put the words in bold from Ex. 8a in the correct column.

    Active Grammar

    When one verb follows another, the second verb is either a gerund (-ing form) or an infinitive (to + verb).

    1 Verbs always followed by the gerund.

    I can’t stand shopping.

    2 Verbs followed by the infinitive.

    I didn’t expect to see these results.

    3 Verbs followed by object + infinitive.

    I told her to call me.

    (!) Some verbs can be followed by a gerund or infinitive. The meaning usually changes.

    A: I tried to call him but he was out.
    B: Have you tried sending him an email?

    b Do the same with the verbs bellow:

    – remind, forget, agree, hate, refuse, finish, adore, advise

    Verb Ordering from 8a, 9a and 9b:

    – Class 1 (-ing): can’t stand, don’t mind, enjoy, look forward to, hate, finish, adore

    – Class 2 (infinitive): expect, ‘d prefer, try, manage, seem, ‘d like, forget, agree, refuse

    – Class 3 (object + infinitive): tell, invite, remind, advise

    NOTE: There is a hierarchies between tell and ask. The latter is a favour. The former is an order in a polite way.

    At the end we did a phonetic exercise 5a, with different types of “a” sound and “e” sound, i.e man, men; heart, hat; …

    And we also did 5c (pronunciation):

    1 I put a can of ham and a leg of lamb in the bag.
    2 The ten mad men went to bed in a red tent.
    3 The cat’s legs, head and heart are in the cart.
    4 The fat man’s hat is in the red car.

Responder

